Cycle Polo Memorabilia

Do these items trigger any memories?

Medal purchased by Barry Ellerby
Ken Porter
Barry Ellerby
Letter heading
Barry Ellerby

Silver medal won by R Coleman when Laindon were defeated by Norwood in the National Competition in 1938.  Do you remember him? 

The medal was purchased by Barry Ellerby and provided to Ken Porter for the Archive.

Do you remember any of the names and can you add a date? 

President: G Gibbson
Vice-Presidents:J P Grindlay
J Orman
W Randall
Hon. Treasurer :S Hayden
Secretary: L Hatherall
Assist. Secretary:A Mitchell
Organisers:C Collins
W Leech

Was this letter heading earlier 

Comments about this page

Add your own comment

  • A polo team consists of six players of which only four play at any one time but are interchanged between chukkas. The team which were runners up to Norwood Paragon in the 1938 national finals were as follows. Chris Collings (capt), Joe Oliver (Goalkeeper also England’s goalkeeper), George Wellington, Ray Coleman, Jack Lagden, the sixth players name escapes me for the moment. 

    Some of the players who were not included were; Reg and Eric Ferrier, Laurie Hatherall, Alan Mitchell, Wilfred Simpson,  and Howard Hutchins. There were others, but once again their names escape my memory.

    The club had a very short history, being formed in the first half of the thirties and ended with the outbreak of war.

    By W.H.Diment (05/09/2012)

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.